Thirteenth Beach Golf Links

Oates Vic Open

Thirteenth Beach Golf Links proudly host the Oates Victorian Open and will continue to do so until at least 2018. The 2017 Oates Vic Open took place on 9th - 12th February.


A series of qualifying rounds commence in May on the first Sunday of each month giving you a number of opportunities to qualify for the final in January for a chance to win a coveted spot in the Pro-Am.

Places are sure to be in high demand so act quickly to ensure you don't miss out!

Also, thanks to Bushnell Golf, a Ghost GPS unit will be awarded to the best individual score of each qualifying event!* 

Qualifying Dates

  • Sunday May 7
  • Sunday June 4
  • Sunday July 2
  • Sunday August 6
  • Sunday September 3
  • Sunday October 1
  • Sunday November 5
  • Sunday December 3


18 Hole Stableford Competition

Tee times available each Sunday morning until 12 noon, bookings can be made online or by calling Golf Operations on 03 5254 2922

Top 4 scores in from each qualifying round will qualify for the Final on Sunday January 21, 2018 at 13th Beach Golf Links. Qualifiers who make the final play for free.

If you qualify more than once you can elect a friend to take the extra spots.

Qualifying Round cost of $95.00 per person and includes prizes on the day and a chance to qualify for the final.

To qualify for the final and play in the Pro-Am, you must have a recognised GA Handicap.

To register for the first qualifying round on May 7 click here

Terms & Conditions

Not to be used in conjunction with any other offer. Cancellations within 48 hours of tee-time will not be entitled to a refund.13th Beach Golf Links Rain Check policy applies. *Countback system will be used to determine if winners scores are tied


The Men's and Women's Oates Victorian Open is the premier event on the Golf Victoria calendar for both amateurs and professionals.

Commencing in 1957 at Riversdale, the inaugural Men's Open title was won by Ossie Pickworth. However, many world famous players have claimed the title including Australia's five time British Open winner, Peter Thomson (1958, 1968 and 1973); South Africa's Gary Player (1959); Bruce Devlin (1962 and 1963); Kel Nagle (1967 and 1969); David Graham (1970); Greg Norman (1984) and Robert Allenby (1991).

The Women's Championship was first played in 1988 but experienced a 20 year hiatus after the 1992 event. The Championship was reintroduced by Golf Victoria and was simultaneously staged with the Men's Open at the Spring Valley and Woodlands Golf Clubs in January 2012, a unique concept in golf tournaments.

The Women's Open was played over 54 holes stroke play with 18 holes played on Friday at Woodlands before the final two rounds were held at Spring Valley in conjunction with the Men's Open. A maximum starting field of 84 players was set for the 2012 event with the 50 leading players plus ties progressing to the final round after a 36-hole cut.

Since moving to 13th Beach in 2013, the event has grown from strength to strength. This year, Golf Victoria has warmly welcomed the announcement by the Victorian Minister for Sport John Eren MP of a $1.1 million funding boost for the Oates Vic Open over the next two years.

The increase in funding will allow the 2017 Oates Vic Open to be contested for a total prize purse of AU$1 million, shared evenly between the men?s and women?s fields. The combined prize pool will increase to $1.3 million in 2018.

The increase in prize money elevates the Men?s Oates Vic Open to Tier 1 status on the ISPS HANDA PGA Tour of Australasia. The tournament becomes the seventh Tier 1 event on the tour alongside the Emirates Australian Open, Australian PGA Championship, World Super 6 Perth, NSW Open, ISPS HANDA New Zealand Open and Fiji International.

For more information on the Oates Vic Open click here


Click here to download a Corporate Partnership overview of the Tournament. Any member wishing to become a sponsor can contact General Manager Craig Skimming ( or Tournament Committee member Glenn Mills (

Click here for the benefits offered by the Oates Victorian Open as explained by David Birch, CEO of Oates.


Click here to view Richard Green's amazing albatross during the 2015 Oates Victorian Open Pro-Am

Click here to view a summary of the successful staging of the 2013 Oates Victorian Opens at 13th Beach Golf Links. 


Men's Victorian Open

1957 H.H.A. Pickworth (Vic)
1958 P.W. Thomson (Vic)
1959 G. Player (Sth Africa)
1960 J. Harris (Vic)
1961 A.A. Murray (NSW)
1962 B.W. Devlin (NSW)
1963 B.W. Devlin (NSW)
1964 F. Phillips (NSW)
1965 A.A. Murray (NSW)
1966 F. Phillips (NSW)
1967 K.D. Nagle (NSW)
1968 P.W. Thomson (Vic)
1969 K.D. Nagle (NSW)
1970 D. Graham (NSW)
1971 G.B. Wolstenholme (Vic)
1972 W.J. Godfrey (NZ)
1973 P.W. Thomson (Vic)
1974 J.C. Davis (Vic)
1975 S.P. Ginn (Vic)
1976 G.B. Wolstenholme (Vic)
1977 G.L. Parslow (Vic)
1978 G.B. Wolstenholme (Vic)
1979 R.M. Davis (NSW)
1980 G.B. Wolstenholme (Vic)
1981 E.W. Dunk (NSW)
1982 M.A. Clayton (Vic)
1983 R.A. Shearer (Vic)
1984 G.J. Norman (QLD)
1985 I.M. Baker-Finch (QLD)
1986 O.D. Moore (QLD)
1987 R.J. Mackay (WA)
1988 J.L. Benepe (USA)
1989 M.A. Clayton (Vic)
1990 Not played
1991 R.M. Allenby (Vic) (A)
1992 I.E. Stanley (Vic)
1993 L.J. Parsons (NSW)
1994 P. Burke (USA)
1995 S.Leaney (WA)
1996 Not Played
1997 S. Leaney (WA)
1998 B. King (WA)
1999 K. Druce (Qld)
2000 B. Lamb (Vic) (A)
2001 S. Laycock (Vic)
2002 A. Stolz (NSW)
2003 Not Played
2004 G. Paddison (NZ)
2005 K. Barnes (Qld)
2006 D. Diaz (Vic)
2007 K. Felton (WA)
2008 Not Played
2009 A. Hall (Vic)
2010 J. Norris (Vic)
2011 P. Sheehan (NSW)

2012 S. Arnold (NSW)

2013 M. Giles (NSW)

2014 M. Griffin

2015 R. Green

2016 M. Long (Nzl)

2017 D.Papadatos (NSW)

Women's Victorian Open

1988 Helen Hopkins (WA)
1989 Susan Tonkin (SA)
1990 Dale Reid (Scot)
1991 Jennifer Wyatt (Can)
1992 Wendy Doolan (NSW)
2012 Joanna Klatten (Fra)

2013 S. Keating (Vic)

2014 M. Lee

2015. M. Skarpnord

2016 G. Hall (Eng)

2017 M.Reid (Eng)

top of page

© Thirteenth Beach Golf Links Ltd 2010
Telephone: (03) 5254 2922 | Email:

Website by MiClub